Dutch Oven Soup

It’s one of the first chilly evenings (at least, the first one I feel chilled), so I made soup.

I was in the midst of nasty financial management homework, so I didn’t have much time, thus a quick made-up soup in my new favorite cookware:

I took a smoked beef sausage, cut in half slices, sauteed in grapeseed oil so I could use a pretty hot burner, added two sliced carrots, a diced up celery stalk, and a pressed clove of garlic. When nicely browned I added a can of pink beans (drained) and a 32-ounce carton of chicken broth. Let it come to a good simmer, then threw in four large-diced klondike-rose potatoes, a pinch of dill, some sage, thyme and rosemary and a chopped up zucchini. Also a dash of my new “secret ingredient” — onion juice in bottle. Simmered till the vegetables were tender.

It was awesome. Just right for a chilly early autumn evening, and, apparently good brain food, since I finished all my homework on time.

2 thoughts on “Dutch Oven Soup

Leave a Reply

