The Endless Array

A friend sent me an e-mail asking about for my thoughts on death, questioning the continuation of spirit, and expressing concerns about hell and punishment.

I responded to her the best I could, and wound up afterwards contemplating the endless array of wonders that make up this physical world.

My own beliefs about the spiritual and eternal nature of Life are clear and pretty well set at this point in my life. My ideas about the “what” of that spiritual continuation are very fuzzy, however. The unknown is both exciting and frightening, I suppose. More exciting though, if you believe in possibilities. . .

Today’s Osho Zen Tarot card, then, is Possibilities.

Mind can accept any boundary anywhere. But the reality is that, by its very nature, existence cannot have any boundary, because what will be beyond the boundary? – again another sky. That’s why I am saying skies upon skies are available for your flight. Don’t be content easily. Those who remain content easily remain small: small are their joys, small are their ecstasies, small are their silences, small is their being. But there is no need! This smallness is your own imposition upon your freedom, upon your unlimited possibilities, upon your unlimited potential.a
Osho Live Zen Chapter 2
 Commentary:
a
The eagle has an overview of all the possibilities contained in the landscape below, as he flies freely, naturally and effortlessly through the sky. He is really in his domain, very grand and self-contained.
a
This card indicates that you are at a point where a world of possibilities is open to you. Because you have grown more loving towards yourself, more self-contained, you can work easily with others. Because you are relaxed and at ease, you can recognize possibilities as they present themselves, sometimes even before others can see them. Because you are in tune with your own nature, you understand that existence is providing you with exactly what you need.
a
Enjoy the flight! And celebrate all the varied wonders of the landscape spread before you.

____________

I’m adding a quick prayer* for my friend: 

I know that the Universe is a loving and vibrant setting for Love and Grace to prevail.

I know that Divine Love guides and guards us as we explore the infinite possibilities of human existence.

I know I am a child of that Divine and Loving Presence who shapes the world, and reflect the glorious possibilities of that beauty and power.

As a beloved child of the Divine I declare the truth that my friend is equally beloved and cherished. That she can open herself to the possibilities of joy and vibrant life. She can embrace the powerful and loving, rather than dwell in the shadows.

She (we all) are inheritors of a glorious and exquisite universe of the senses, the sounds, and tastes of the world. They surround us and uplift us, full of God’s grace, and His/Her endless desire for good, for life, for love. That impulse, even compulsion, toward light and life are in each of us in full, unlimited measure.

Nothing in my thoughts of the thoughts of another can delay, or deny or deter the fullness of this expression of Divine Love in our lives. I know that is Love is in motion — right here and now — working for the good in my friend’s life, and I know this love can overcome any barrier, belief or fear.

Therefore, I release this prayer in joyful gratitude, knowing it is already done.

And So It is.

________

*This prayer is an abbreviated form of Science of Mind Treatment.

3 thoughts on “The Endless Array

Leave a Reply

