Sentimental Journeys

train track

Sentimental Journey

by Bud Green, Les Brown & Ben Homer

Gonna take a Sentimental Journey,
Gonna set my heart at ease.
Gonna make a Sentimental Journey,
to renew old memories.

Got my bags, got my reservations,
Spent each dime I could afford.
Like a child in wild anticipation,
I Long to hear that, “All aboard!”

Seven…that’s the time we leave at seven.
I’ll be waitin’ up at heaven,
Countin’ every mile of railroad
track, that takes me back.

Never thought my heart could be so yearny.
Why did I decide to roam?
Gotta take that Sentimental Journey,
Sentimental Journey home.

Sentimental Journey.


(Copyright 1944 by Morley Music Co., Inc.
31 West 34th Street, N.y., N.Y. 10019
Copyright renewed 1971. All Rights Reserved.)

I just can’t get that song out of my head today.  I think I’m hearing the original Doris Day/Les Brown recording that my mom used to love: a little sweet, a little sultry, a lot lilting and melodic, with a train’s rhythmic wheels underneath it all.

Old songs have been playing a lot for me… from The Beatles–Rubber Soul‘s “Norwegian Wood”–to Sinatra soaring on “Fly Me to the Moon” and now this classic.

There’s a nearly indescribable feeling that moves through, deep in the belly, echoeing hollowly in my head, burning behind my eyes, when a song triggers deep emotional memories. Different songs, different eras, different emotions, but such a sweet sadness. Nostalgia always has seemed such an inadequate word to describe it.

My late husband, Dennis, coined a word, “theeling,” to describe the twining of thought and feeling that accompanied such moments — what I hold in my head, I feel in my heart and experience in my body.

Music, scents, a quality in the air, all have such power to trigger those theelings. Even as they bring tears and yearnings that can’t be satisfied, they bring a deep joy in being alive, in getting to experience, and re-experience such richness and beauty.

Gonna a take a sentimental journey…. Happy Friday evening, everyone.



Leave a Reply

